Directors Guild Awards

The DGA Awards winners and nominees are:



*WINNER Michel Hazanavicius, The Artist 

Directorial Team

Unit Production Manager: Antoine De Cazotte

Production Manager (FR): Segolene Fleury

First Assistant Director (FR): James Canal

First Assistant Director (US): David Cluck

Second Assistant Director (US): Dave Paige

Second Second Assistant Directors: Karla Strum, Ricky Robinson

Woody Allen, Midnight in Paris

David Fincher, The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo 

Alexander Payne, The Descendants

Martin Scorsese, Hugo



*WINNER Jon Cassar, The Kennedys (Reelz Channel)

Jeff Bleckner, Hallmark Hall of Fame, Beyond The Blackboard (CBS)

Stephen Gyllenhaal, Girl Fight (Lifetime)

Demi Moore, Jennifer Aniston, Penelope Spheeris, Alicia Keys, Patty Jenkins Five (Lifetime)

Michael Stevens, Thurgood (HBO)


*WINNER Patty Jenkins, The Killing, “Pilot” (AMC)

Michael Cuesta, Homeland, “Pilot” (Showtime)

Vince Gilligan, Breaking Bad, “Face Off” (AMC)

Tim Van Patten, Game of Thrones, “Winter is Coming” (Pilot) (HBO)

Michael Waxman, Friday Night Lights, “Always” (NBC)


*WINNER Robert B. Weide, Curb Your Enthusiasm, “Palestinian Chicken” (HBO)

Directorial Team:

Associate Directors: Dale Stern, Tim Gibbon

State Managers: Jonathan Harris, Jerri Churchill, Dana Jackson

Fred Savage, Modern Family, “After the Fire” (ABC)

Don Scardino, 30 Rock, “Double-Edged Sword” (NBC)

Michael Spiller, Modern Family, “Express Christmas” (ABC)

David Steinberg, Curb Your Enthusiasm, “The Divorce” (HBO)


*WINNER Glenn Weiss, 65th Annual Tony Awards (CBS)

Directorial Team: 

Associate Directors: Ken Diego, Robin Abrams, Debra Gelman, Ricky Kirshner

Stage Managers: Garry Hood, Peter Epstein, Andrew Feigin, Lynn Finkel, Doug Fogel, Jeffrey Gitter,

Phyllis Diglio-Kent, Arthur Lewis, Jeff Markowitz, Joey Meade, Tony Mirante, Cyndi Owgang,

Jeff Pearl, Elise Reaves, Lauren Class Schneider, Annette Powlis

Louis J. Horvitz, The Kennedy Center Honors (CBS)

Don Roy King, Saturday Night Live With Host Justin Timberlake (NBC)

Don Mischer, 83rd Annual Academy Awards (ABC)

Chuck O'Neil, The Daily Show with Jon Stewart (Comedy Central)

*WINNER Neil P. Degroot, Biggest Loser, “Episode #1115” (NBC) 

Associate Director: Andy Nelson
Eytan Keller, The Next Iron Chef: Super Chefs, “Next Iron Chef Episode” (Food Network)

Brian Smith, Master Chef, “Episode #201” (FOX)
J. Rupert Thompson, Fear Factor 2.0, “Scorpion Tales” (NBC)
Bertram Van Munster, The Amazing Race, “You Don’t Get Paid Unless You Win?” (CBS)


*WINNER James Marsh, Project Nim

Joe Berlinger & Bruce Sinofsky, Paradise Lost 3: Purgatory

Steve James,The Interrupters

Richard Press, Bill Cunningham New York

Martin Scorsese, George Harrison: Living in the Material World


* WINNER Noam Murro (Biscuit Filmworks)

Handle Bar Moustache, Heineken Premium Light- Wieden & Kennedy/NY
·         Unit Production Manager: James Powell Veal
·         First Assistant Director: Tommy Gormley
·         Second Assistant Director: Ian Robert Calip
·         Second Second Assistant Director: Michael King
Hot House, DirecTV – Grey/NY
·         Unit Production Manager: James Powell Veal
·         First Assistant Director: Scott C. Harris
·         Second Assistant Director: Mark R. Robinson
·         Second Second Assistant Director: Brady Sloan
Pinata, Volkswagen Tiguan – Deutsch/LA
·         Unit Production Manager: James Powell Veal
·         First Assistant Director: Scott M. Metcalfe
·         Second Assistant Director: Ty Arnold
Is It Real?, EA Battlefield 3  - Wieden & Kennedy/Portland
·         First Assistant Director: Michael David Salven
·         Second Assistant Director: Erv E. Gentry
·         Second Second Assistant Director: Eric Schneider

Lance Acord (Park Pictures)

The Force, VW Passat – Deutsch LA
Paint the Town, NIKE Basketball – Wieden & Kennedy/Portland
Sweetest Moment, NBA – Goodby, Silverstein & Partners
The Chosen, NIKE - 72andSunny
Dante Ariola (MJZ)

Parallels, Jim Beam – Strawberry Frog
Black Betty, Volkswagen – Deutsch/LA

 Gas Powered Everything, Nissan Leafe -- TBWA Chiat Day

Fredrik Bond (MJZ)

Date, Heineken - Wieden & Kennedy/Amsterdam
The Entrance, Heineken - Wieden & Kennedy/Amsterdam

Steve Miller (
Pommel Horse, Dos Equis – Euro RSCG Worldwide/NY
Speed Dating, Dos Equis - Euro RSCG Worldwide/NY
Pygmy, Dos Equis – Euro RSCG Worldwide/NY
Guinea Pigs, Geico – Martin Agency
Sushi, Geico – Martin Agency
Fort, Cheetos – Goodby Silverstein and Partners
Parking Lot, Ortega – Grey Worldwide


*WINNER William Ludel, General Hospital, “Intervention” (ABC)

Directorial Team:

Associate Directors: Christin Magarian Ucar, Denise Van Cleave, Penny Pengra, Peter Fillmore, RC Cates, David MacLeod

Stage Managers: Craig McManus, Crystal Craft

Production Associates: Christine Cooper, Andrea Compton

Larry Carpenter, One Life to Live, “Episode #10917” (ABC)

Casey Childs, All My Children, “Episode #10712” (ABC)
Mike Denney, The Young and the Restless, “Episode #9710” (CBS)
Scott McKinsey, General Hospital, “Episode #12364” (ABC)
Cynthia J. Popp, The Bold and the Beautiful, “Episode #6057” (CBS)

Angela Tessinari, All My Children, “Episode #10704” (ABC)


*WINNER Amy Schatz, A Child’s Garden of Poetry (HBO)

John Fortenberry, Fred 2: Night of the Living Fred (Nickelodeon) 

Jeffrey Hornaday, Geek Charming (Disney Channel)
Michael Lembeck, Sharpay’s Fabulous Adventure (Disney Channel)
Patricia Riggen, Lemonade Mouth (Disney Channel)
Damon Santostefano, Best Player (Nickelodeon)

Music Stage

Travel Stage

Movie Stage

Fashion Stage

Health Stage

Event Stage

Internet News

Literature Stage