82nd Annual Academy Awards

The Kodak Theater in Hollywood

Nicole Kidman
Buy This Photo

Models Actress Stage




Best motion picture of the year


The Blind Side

District 9

An Education

The Hurt Locker - WINNER

Inglourious Basterds


A Serious Man


Up in the Air


Performance by an actor in a leading role

Jeff Bridges - Crazy Heart - WINNER

George Clooney - Up in the Air

Colin Firth - A Single Man

Morgan Freeman - Invictus

Jeremy Renner - The Hurt Locker


Performance by an actress in a leading role

Sandra Bullock - The Blind Side - WINNER

Hellen Mirren - The Last Station

Carey Mulligan - An Education

Gabourey Sidibe - Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire

Meryl Streep - Julia & Julia


Achievement in directing

Avatar - James Cameron

The Hurt Locker - Katherine Bigelow - WINNER

Inglourious Basterds - Quentin Tarantino

Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire - Lee Daniels

Up in the Air - Jason Reitman


Performance by an actor in a supporting role

Matt Damon - Invictus

Woody Harrelson - The Messenger

Christopher Plummer - The Last Station

Stanley Tucci - The Lovely Bones

Christoph Waltz - Inglourious Basterds - WINNER


Performance by an actress in a supporting role

Penelope Cruz - Nine

Vera Farmiga - Up in the Air

Maggie Gyllenhaal - Crazy Heart

Anna Kendrick - Up in the Air

Mo’Nique - Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire - WINNER


Original screenplay

The Hurt Locker - Written by Mark Boal - WINNER

Inglourious Basterds - Written by Quentin Tarantino

The Messenger - Written By Alessandro Camon & Oren Moverman

A Serious Man - Written By Joel & Ethan Coen

Up - Screenplay by Bob Peterson, Pete Docter. Pete Docter, Bob Peterson, Tom McCarthy


Adapted screenplay

District 9 - Written by Neil Blomkamp and Terri Tatchell

An Education - Screenplay by Nick Hornby

In the Loop - Screenplay by Jessee Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Armando Lannicci, Tony Roche

Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire - Screenplay by Geoffrey Fletcher - WINNER

Up in the Air - Sceenplay by Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner


Best animated feature film of the year

Coraline - Henry Selick

Fantastic Mr. Fox - Wes Anderson

The Princess and the Frog - John Musker and Ron Clements

The Secret of Kells - Tom Moore

Up - Pete Docter - WINNER


Best foreign language film of the year

Ajami - Israel

El Secreto de Sus Ojos - Argentina - WINNER

The Milk of Sorrow - Peru

Un Profete - France

The White Ribbon - Germany


Best documentary feature

Burma VJ - Anderz østergaard and Lise Lense-Møller

The Cove -  WINNER

Food, Inc. - Robert Kenner and Elise Pearlstein

The Most Dangerous Man in America: Daniel Ellsberg and the Pentagon Papers - Judith Ehrlich and Rick Goldsmith

Which Way Home - Rebecca Cammisa


Best documentary short subject

China’s Unnatural Disaster: The Tears of Sichuan Prince - John Alpert and Matthew O’Neill

The Last Campaign of Governor Booth Gardner - Daniel Junge and Henry Ansbacher

The Last Truck: Closing of a GM Plant - Steven Bognar and Julia Reichert

Music by Prudence - Roger Ross Williams and Elinor Burkett - WINNER

Rabbit a La Berlin - Bartek Konopka and Anna Wydra


Achievement in music written for motion pictures (Original score)

Avatar - James Horner

Fantastic Mr. Fox - Alexandre Desplat

The Hurt Locker - Marco Beltrami and Buck Sanders

Sherlock Holmes - Hanz Zimmer

Up - Michael Glacchino - WINNER


Achievement in music written for motion pictures (Original song)

The Princess and the Frog - “Almost There” - Music and Lyric by Randy Newman

The Princess and the Frog - “Down in New Orleans” - Music and Lyric By Randy Newman

Paris 36 - “Loin de Paname” - Music by Reinhardt Wagner, Lyric by Frank Thomas

Nine - “Take It All” - Music and Lyric by Maury Yeston

Crazy Heart - “The Weary Kind (Theme from Crazy Heart” - Music and Lyric by Ryan Bingham and T Bone Burnett - WINNER


Achievement in art direction

Avatar - Art Direction: Rick Carter and Robert Stromberg. Set Decoration: Kim Sinclair - WINNER

The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus - Art Direction: Dave Warren and Anastasia Masaro. Set Decoration: Caroline Smith

Nine - Art Direction John Myhre. Set Direction: Gordon Sim

Sherlock Holmes - Art Direction: Sarah Greenwood. Set Direction: Katie Spencer

The Young Victoria - Art Direction: Patrice Vermette. Set Direction: Maggie Gray


Achievement in cinematography

Avatar - Mauro Fiore - WINNER

Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince - Bruno Delbonnel

The Hurt Locker - Barry Ackroyd

Inglourious Basterds - Robert Richardson

The White Ribbon - Christian Berger


Achievement in costume design

Bright Star - Janet Patterson

Coco before Chanel - Catherine Leterrier

The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus - Monique Prudhomme

Nine - Colleen Atwood

The Young Victoria - Sandy Powell - WINNER


Achievement in film editing

Avatar - Stephen Rivkin, John Refoua and James Cameron

District 9 - Julian Clarke

The Hurt Locker - Bob Murawski and Chris Innis - WINNER

Inglourious Basterds - Sally Menke

Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire - Joe Klotz


Achievement in makeup

Il Divo - Aldo Signoretti and Vittorio Sodano

Star Trek - Barney Burman, Mindy Hall and Joel Harlow - WINNER

The Young Victoria - John Henry Gordon and Jenny Shircore


Best animated short film

French Roast - Fabrice O. Joubert

Granny O’Grimm’s Sleeping Beauty - Nicky Phelan and Darragh O’Connell

The Lady and the Reaper (La Dama y la Muerte) - Javier Recio Gracia

Logorama - Micolas Schmerkin - WINNER

A Matter of Loaf and Death - Nick Park


Best live action short film

The Door - Juanita Wilson and James Flynn

Instead of Abracadabra - Patrik Eklund and Mathias Fjellstrom

Kavi - Gregg Helvey

Miracle Fish - Luke Doolan and Drew Bailey

The New Tenants - Joachim Back and Tivi Magnusson - WINNER


Achievement in sound editing

Avatar - Christopher Boyes and Gwendolyn Yates Whittle

The Hurt Locker - Paul N.J. Ottosson - WINNER

Inglourious Basterds - Wylie Stateman

Star Trek - Mark Stoeckinger and Alan Rankin

Up - Michael Silvers and Tom Myers


Achievement in sound mixing

Avatar - Christopher Boyes, Gary Summers, Andy Nelson and Tony Johnson

The Hurt Locker - Paul N.J. Ottosson and Ray Beckett - WINNER

Inglourious Basterds - Michael Minkler, Tony Lamberti and Mark Ulano

Star Trek - Anna Behlmer, Andy Nelson and Peter J. Devlin

Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen - Greg P. Russell, Gary Summers and Geoffrey Patterson


Achievement in visual effects

Avatar - Joe Letteri, Stephen Rosenbaum, Richard Baneham and Andrew R. Jones - WINNER

District 9 - Dan Kaufman, Peter Muyzers, Robert Habros and Matt Aitken

Star Trek - Roger Guyett, Russell Earl, Paul Kavanagh and Burt Dalton