2007 Sundance Film Festival

Award Winners Announced


Apple iTunesApple iTunes

Robert Redford

Try Netflix for Free!

Between the jury and audience, the winners of the awards for the 2007 Sundance Film Festival have been announced. Some of the films touching deeply into current world issues: Iraq, illegal immigration, political corruption were the dominating films to win awards.

"And the winners are…"

Grand Jury Prize, Documentary: Manda Bala, directed by Jason Kohn

Grand Jury Prize, Dramatic: Padre Nuestro, directed by Christopher Zalla

The World Cinema Jury Prize, Documentary: Enemies of Happiness, directors Eva Mulvad and Anja Al Erhayem.

The World Cinema Jury Prize, Dramatic: Sweet Mud, directed by Dror Shaul.

World Cinema Documentary Competition Special Jury Prize: Hot House, directed by Shimon Dotan.

World Cinema Dramatic Competition Special Jury Prize: The Legacy, directors Géla Babluani and Temur Babluani.

Independent Film Documentary Competition Special Jury Prize: No End in Sight, directed by Charles Ferguson, "in recognition of the film as timelywork that clearly illuminates the misguided policy decisions that have led to the catastrophic quagmire of the U.S. invasion and occupation of Iraq."


Special Jury Prize for Singularity of Vision: Chris Smith, The Pool

Special Jury Prize for Acting, Independent Dramatic Film: Jess Weixler, for Teeth and Tamara Podemski for Four Sheets to the Wind

Excellence in Cinematography, Documentary: Heloisa Passos, for Manda Bala

Excellence in Cinematographcy, Dramatic: Joshua, Benoit Debie

Independent Film Competition Documentary Jury, Editing: Hibah Sherif Frisina, Charlton McMillian, and Michael Schweitzer for their work on the film Nanking.

Waldo Scott Screenwriting Award: Grace is Gone, James C. Strouse

Independent Film Competition, Directing, Documentary: War/Dance, Sean Fine and Andrea Nix Fine

Independent Film Competition, Directing, Dramatic: Rocket Science, Jeffrey Blitz



Audience Award, Documentary: Hear and Now, directed by Irene Taylor Brodsky

Audience Award, Dramatic: Grace is Gone, directed by James C. Strouse

The World Cinema Audience Award for Documentary: In the Shadow of the Moon, directed by David Sington.

World Cinema Audience Award for Dramatic Film: Once, helmed by John Carney.

The Alfred P. Sloan prize for a feature film with science as a theme, or featuring a scientist or mathemetician main character, was awarded to Dark Matter, directed by Chen Shi-Zeng and written by Billy Shebar. As the winner of the Alfred P. Sloan prize, the film receives a $20,000 award.

The Shorts Special Jury Prize for Short Filmmaking: Freeheld, by director Cynthia Wade.

Jury Prize for International Short: The Tube With a Hat, directed by Radu Jude from Romania.

Jury Prize for Short Filmmaking was awarded to Everything Will Be OK, directed by Don Hertzfeldt.


Apple iTunes


Sundace 2003


Image by FlamingText.com

Apple iTunes

Nicole Kidman
Buy This Photo
Apple iTunes




Copyright © 1998-2007 Buffalo Benford Productions, LLC